Book: The Outdoors

Everything I wanted to know
I learned from a book
Everything I needed to know
I learned from a look

Everything I didn’t know
I learned from a lesson
Everything I’ve yet to know
Will leave its own impression

– ncw

Note:
Tonight we will read our newest library sale find, The Outdoors Book (50 cents!!). It’s a nice, crunchy, tree-hugging 70’s Britannica book about the big blue marble we live on. After covering air, plants, soil, water, it ends with a great call to action:

The world outdoors is filled with wonders.

Enjoy it…
Explore it…
Take care of it
as part of the Earth,
our home!

In other words, get your nose out of this book and go outside!

Alan Fortescue, Director of Education for Earthwatch Institute, has some great tips about getting your kids more “plugged in” to the outdoors here.

Leave a Reply

