Poetry Friday: "Sneeze"

We’re just getting over 2 weeks of the flu. In honor of this annual tradition, I present Maxine W. Kumin‘s classic poem.

“Sneeze”

There’s a
sort of a

tickle

the size of a

nickel,

a bit like the

prickle

of sweet-sour

pickle;


it’s a

quivery

shiver

the shape of a

sliver,

like eels in a

river;


a kind of a

wiggle

that starts as a

jiggle

and joggles

its way to a

tease,


which I

cannot

suppress

any longer,

I guess,

so pardon me,

please,

while I

sneeze.

Note: “Sneeze” can be found in many poetry collections, including 2 of our favorites:

No One Writes A Letter to the Snail: Poems by Maxine A. Kumin

and

Poetry Speaks to Children, edited by Elise Paschen (which makes a perfect gift for new families)

2 Comments on Poetry Friday: "Sneeze"

  1. HA! Cute poem. I was down and out with the flu last week, I can relate!

  2. Fun poem, some great phrases.

Leave a Reply

