Book: The Day the Babies Crawled Away

The Day the Babies Crawled Away
by Peggy Rathmann

What we “see”
is what we “know”
As above
so below

Tilt your head
Change direction
Just a shift
To shift perception

When you look
do you see?
Do you know?
You tell me

Note: A friend recommended this book. I was admittedly skeptical when he said the art was all done in silhouette because I couldn’t picture it holding a toddler’s attention.

Well shame on me!

Nick LOVES this book. The story is great – babies wander away while parents are stuffing their face with pie at a neighborhood party. One boy follows them, makes sure they don’t get hurt, and brings them all back. Cheers all around.

But it’s really the visuals that are stunning. The art has an elegant simplicity that I thought would confuse Nick. But if anything, it makes it easier for him to see all of the details that Caldecott-winner Rathmann has so beautifully and subtly woven into the story. And he sees far more than I do – a butterfly in a lower left corner or a page, a baby hidden amongst tree branches, a boy balancing a caterpillar on his finger.

Take your time with this book. Let them linger on each page. The sayings really are true:

“Less is More.

“God is in the details.”

“At the end of the day…” – oh wait, not that one! It’s annoying!

I think I’ll settle on:

“It’s the little things that mean a lot.”

My little one teaches me a lot of big things every day.

Thanks, Nick.

Leave a Reply

