Tip: Read Aloud

I knew I loved Obama
He’s not about the drama
He understands what’s needed
And is not a bit conceited

When it comes to learning
To the basics he’s returning
Want your kids to make you proud?
Start reading to them aloud

Note: So what’s at the heart of Obama’s education policy? Reading aloud to kids. (Video at 41:06)

Pshaw! Can it be that simple? Why, yes Virginia, it can.

– Set aside a regular time to read to your kids.

– Be present when you read – not sorting through crackberry messages in your head

– Repeat often.

We have marathon story times in our house – I think Nick has picked up on the fact that I’ll let him stay up longer so long as we’re reading. Smart kid. He’s figured out my weak spot.

But really, you only need 10 minutes daily according to author Susan Frankenberg (Read Aloud Magic).

Two of my personal favorites for read aloud guidance are:

The Read-Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease

How to Get Your Child to Love Reading by fellow Rogers Parker Esmé Raji Codell

Both are super cheap on Amazon – you’ll pay more for shipping than for the book – and are amazing references that you will use for years. Think about spreading the wealth and getting copies for other parents.

Think of it as an investment in the next generation.

Bonus: Have a reluctant reader? Check out Maxwell Eaton III’s comic strip answer.

5 Comments on Tip: Read Aloud

  1. Donna gets 3 books before nap, and 3 books before bed. And 1 in the morning. And sometimes 1 or 2 at meals, if we’re dining alone together. And little random session of 2-5 during the day.She kind of likes books.

  2. I grew up as a reluctant reader. Now I write action-adventures & mysteries, especially for tween boys, that girls and boys hate to put down. My web site is at http://www.maxbooks.9k.com and my Books for Boys blog is at http://booksandboys.blogspot.com I also have a short story in a new book called LAY UPS and LONG SHOTS, published by Darby Creek Publishing. It's a Junior Library Guild selection. I'm also featured in an article in the 2009 edition of Children's Writer Guide.My other books are all ranked by Accelerated ReaderMax Elliot Anderson

  3. I love Obama too! It’s the kids from disadvantaged homes that I worry about. I had a babysitter once who was a young, single mom and she NO idea that she was supposed to teach her son the alphabet. She just thought he’;d learn it when he got to kindergarten! I am donating books this week to a local Head Start program!

  4. Jeremy – “Actually” that goes a long way to explaining her amazing vocabulary. So, she’ll be going to a Great Books college, eh?

  5. Corey, it’s great that you’re donating books. I figure the more literate the next generation is, the better care they’ll take of us when we’re old. That is, of course, unless we’ve (d)evolved into a hieroglyph society, in which case early literacy might well be a moot point.

Leave a Reply

