Activity: Shedd Aquarium

My birthday wish
Was for birthday fish
Not on a dish
But to watch them swish

Which we did
My partner, me and kid
But we didn’t see squid
*Sigh* I guess it hid

Note: Yes, thirty…something years ago, after 9 months and 2 weeks of hanging out with my mom, I came into this world, albeit reluctantly. It would be another 2 weeks before I opened my eyes.

According to my mom, I looked like a prune.

To mark the occasion, we hung out at the Shedd Aquarium, which was freaking awesome…for about 2.5 hours. There’s some rule out there that the number of kids at a birthday party should match the age. I think a similar rule applies to museum visits – 2 1/2 hours for a 2 1/2 year old.

We skated perilously close to meltdown, but had the good sense to leave before we reached full-on howler monkey tantrum. Still we had a great time, enough to get a membership.

For bedtime tonight we read:

My Little Book of Fish

Swimmy

and tomorrow we’ll read:

Flotsam

Stellaluna
(Huh? Bats? Yup, there were bats at the Shedd.)

Leave a Reply

