Book: Have You Seen Trees?

Have you seen summer trees?
Shade-me-from-the-light trees
Whisper-in-the-night trees

– from Have You Seen Trees by Joanna Oppenheim

Note: This beautiful meditation on trees in each season was published 31 years ago, which makes it younger than I am and older than my actress friend who has been “30” for the past 12 years.

I freely admit to pushing 40 this weekend. She’s been dragging it behind her for awhile.

But I digress…

I was so inspired by Oppenheim’s timber treatise, that I wrote my own:

Have you seen my backyard trees?
When-are-you-going-to-call-someone-to-trim-them trees?
Spilling-onto-our-neighbor’s-yard trees?
You-so-don’t-have-the-time-to-build-that-treehouse trees?
Why-did-ComEd-leave-a-powerline-dangling-in-them trees?

Bonus: Oppenheim has written a series of Have You Seen poem books:

Have You Seen Birds

Have You Seen Bugs

Have You Seen Boats


Have You Seen Dogs


Have You Seen Houses

Have You Seen Roads

Leave a Reply

