Book: Fortunately

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=kiddandbook-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0689716605&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Fortunately, I discovered this great book.

Unfortunately, I forgot the name a few days later.

Fortunately, I had written the name down on a piece of paper.

Unfortunately, my son, Nick, drew all over the paper.

Fortunately, I read the title before he covered it completely.

Unfortunately, it was only a few letters.

Fortunately, I read about it again online.

Unfortunately, our internet went down and I couldn’t do any more reading.

Fortunately, I have internet access at work.

Unfortunately, I also have work … at work.

Fortunately, I finished my work early so I could surf.

Unfortunately, I got distracted and forgot to look up the book.

Fortunately, I had added it to my Amazon Wish List.

And Fortunately, I discovered all of the other great Remy Charlip books.

How Fortunate for us all!

Note: Remy Charlip is one of those multi-hyphenate people who makes you wonder what you’ve been doing with your life. This artist-writer-choreographer-designer-teacher has won awards in pretty much every area he’s worked in and his children’s books show that he gets kiddos – how they think and what kinds of stories they enjoy.

I was a little skeptical about Fortunately being able to hold Nick’s attention. Not only did he ask to read it multiple times, but he was cracking up on every page — apparently, the prospect of our hero, Ned, landing in the middle of ravenous sharks is HI-LARIOUS!

No worries, because fortunately, Ned knows how to swim! And that’s how it goes. Up and down, yin and yang.

Bonus: This is a great “so what do you think happens next” book to really engage your kiddos in the story.

Leave a Reply

