Book: Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=kiddandbook-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=068983568X&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1

Ya’ll gon’ make me lose my mind
Up in here, up in here

Saturday night at The Coconut Tree
Too many peeps, man, I couldn’t see
I nudged out A, stepped over B
Then tripped over passed out C and D

I dropped some E and flicked off F
G and H sportin’ bling like the IMF
On the dance floor jackin’ I J K
Bustin’ moves like they be in the day

L and M gettin’ cozy at the bar
N O P wond’rin’ where they are
Q R S at the door lay siege
Talking smack to the bouncer like Noblesse oblige

A tap on the shoulder from T and U
“We’re not staying long. Just passing ThrU”
V and W have a fling
X grabs my mic, says he wants to sing

“Y?” I ask, “You can’t carry a tune
I’m the iPod to your second-rate Zune”
Z takes offense tries to land a blow
I dodge and duck then do my show

Ya’ll gon’ make me lose my mind
Up in here, up in here
Ya’ll gon’ make me go all out
Up in here, up in here
Ya’ll gon’ make me act the fool
Up in here, up in here
Ya’ll gon’ make me lose my cool
Up in here, up in here

Note: Bill Martin, Jr.’s Chicka Chicka Boom Boom is the best party on the block. All of the cool letters are hanging out in the coconut tree. Perhaps not as “rapped out” as the above version, the rhyme is nevertheless supercatchy and teaches kiddos about upper and lowercase letters.

Discolusre: Sometimes, DMX’s Party Up (Up in Here), which inspired the above, is the best way to shake off the day.

Try it (preferably the radio-edit version!)

Leave a Reply

