Book: I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=kiddandbook-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0152024883&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=0000FF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1

A Letter to Mama

I know you said no paint, but I ain’t about to stop
I’m feeling Jackson Pollock so you’ll have to get the mop
Maybe it’s the fumes but I can’t quit my singin’
I bet I’ll need a bath after all the paint I’m slingin’

Note: A definite read out loud favorite (and ALA Notable Book) to the tune of “It ain’t gonna rain no more” (mp3)…though you may want to preface it with “Please don’t try this in the house!”

Karen Beaumont’s rhyme scheme encourages kids to guess the next body part our prodigious painter will tackle next while David Catrow’s riotous illustrations suggest a color chaos that kids can appreciate.

The smarties will inform you that, “he shouldn’t say ‘ain’t’. It’s am not,” but somehow, “I am not going to paint anymore” doesn’t have the same ring.

It just ain’t the same.

Leave a Reply

